The Thousend Caves.
The halls of Thingol and Melian in Doriath in Beleriand, Menegroth was build for Thingol and Meliand by the Belegost-Dwarves in V.Y.1300 ( the second age of the captivity of Melkor.), in the Forest of Region where Esgalduin turned from South to West. The payment for Menegroth was knowledge that Melian taught them and pearls and especialy one great pearl Nimphelos, which one Cirdan had given to Thingol, and much wisdom theDwarves gained, taught to them by Melian and the Dwarves held themselves richly paid. Menegroth was delved on the South-Eastern side where Esgalduin made his great curve from running South to East. A bridge of stone was made over the river, by which alone the gates could be entered The great hall with the throne in its midst was called Menelrond because by the arts and aid of Melian its high arched roof had been adorned with silver and gems set in the order and figures of the stars in the great dome of Valmar in Aman from where Melian came. The pillars was were hewn in the likeness of the beeches of Oromë and the halls were lit with lanterns of gold, there were fountains of silver and basins of marble and floors of many coloured stones (Wj+Sil+Pme) Menegroth was sacked and plundered by a host of Dwarves who came from Nogrod and Belegost in F.A.502, to take by force, the mighty work, the Nauglamir they had made for Thingol.